DevLog #14 First WIP Video (Battle system, etc…)

Hey guys, it’s been a long time (+2 months), I took all this time because I wanted to do something different so I worked a lot on the visuals to make a little video about the battle system and some other things, you can check the video here:

I will be making more devlog videos from now on so… subscribe!

I also show a little about map exploration and etc.

Here are some gifs too:
This is a preview of the battle system:

This is the player being chased by a hostile wild creature:

Of course, a lot more was made since the last time I posted here, almost the entire battle UI was designed and implemented including the window for switching creatures:

The items window:

Also the creatures summary window:

Note: don’t forget that everything is wip, so, yea, those items icons/descriptions/names/etc, etc are just placeholders, temporary stuff.

I don’t know if I will keep this design forever, but for now, that’s it. Maybe I improve it later.

The battle system also had a lot of bugfixes and improvements (internal improvements), that’s also why I took so long, the creature following coach system had lots of improvements too, now they (if you have more than 1 creature) will follow you in line, they will be instantiated according to your creatures list (of course) and everything just works, you get in a battle, they will be there, they suffer damage, use items in them and when you get out of the battle they will be in the same state that they had in the battle and they will be instantiated behind you again and already in line.

The experience/level up and move points was not implemented yet, so that’s subject for my next devlog.

See you next time!

Leave a Reply

