DevLog #12 One more sample character

Hey guys, one month since the last DevLog haha, so, I just finished modelling the character from the last concept, note that this is not a protagonist, still studying concept styles, also figuring out how I am going to structure the character model (body pieces, clothing, rigging, and etc) to implement the character customization system. And I also decided to use normal maps now instead of painting the clothing folds directly and the textures, as you can see in the model it looks better, since I didn’t decided how the face customization will work I left the same eyes from the last model, I don’t know if I’m going to use textures for the eyes/eyebrowns/etc or model them in the model itself, same for mouth, nose and the rest of the face, I still didn’t decided because both ways has downsides and I still don’t know which way is better for my case.

This time I skinned and rigged and also made the idle animation, I’m going to make the walk, run and other basic animations and improve the idle animation to put it in the game and start use it as my placeholder to walk around the maps and test stuff with him. The map I said I was going to do is almost ready, I am just going to finish this guy to put it in there and take some cool screenshots.

Here is the concept:

And here is the model:

Also note that I’m constantly iterating through my art and everything I develop, so I may improve/change/delete everything shown at my devlogs.

Cheers guys and gals, I hope you have liked.
Have a nice week!

Leave a Reply

